Conquering the Superstition

Teresa Bandiola
4 min readDec 13, 2018

--

Photo: http://www.ustaaa.org/

At the University of Santo Tomas (UST), there is a myth that exiting through the Arch of the Centuries while studying there will bar you from graduating from the university. Well, that happened to me, not permanently but for a while. That is because, way back in 2012, as a fresh blood in the university and a new M.S. Pharmacy student, I happened to roam around the historical landmarks of the campus after the first day of school. I remember it was a Saturday because the classes I enrolled for my master’s degree in Pharmacy were all offered in the weekend. I chose this schedule because I was working on weekdays as a full-time Pharmacy instructor in a different institution. At the time, I hadn’t even read the student handbook or any school announcement. In other words, I was too confident that everything would be perfectly fine.

That Saturday, with my desire to get to know the university and to familiarize myself with the surroundings, I decided on strolling around the famous landmarks. Walking through the university grounds, I was impressed by the charismatic archaic designs, from the Main Building’s renaissance revival architecture to the Arch of the Centuries’ baroque designs — which I would learn later on that they were actually National Cultural Treasures in the Philippines.

Since the Arch stands a few meters away from the university’s Millennium Gate and that it faces España Boulevard where I would wait for a public vehicle to get home, I decided to walk through the Lover’s Lane from the Benavides Monument to the Arch but I got stuck temporarily at the nearby fountains: a) the Fountain of Wisdom to the right of the Arch that features the sculpture of a lady in the center of a lotus flower raising a book and b) the Fountain of Knowledge at the other side that features the sculpture of a lady standing on top of a lotus flower while holding a globe. Not long after, I neared the back of Arch thinking that it was a good location to look deeper into the delicate carvings. I would learn later on that half of its current structure, the side facing the UST Main Building is the ruins of the original Intramuros Arch while the side that faces España Boulevard is a replica. Unknown to many, the Arch was formerly the original entrance to the university when the campus was still in Intramuros from 1680 to 1941.

For the first time, I crossed through the Arch not knowing about the superstition behind it. No wonder, a security guard at the Millennium Gate was staring at me at the time. He must have been wondering why a Thomasian student was exiting the Arch. The guard must have been wondering if I knew about the superstition. I could still recall the look in his face.

It was only months after when I learned from a classmate that one must not pass under the Arc while still studying at UST. And all incoming students, either freshman or transferee, as part of the initiation rites into the university, are required to pass through the Arc during the Thomasian Welcome Walk. Candidates for graduation, on the other hand, also pass under the Arc during a parade after the Baccalaureate Mass.

I chuckled upon learning this from my classmate, in two minds if I would admit to him that I had actually broken the tradition. Although it was unintentional, deep down something had troubled me. Then about a year later, after taking my comprehensive examination, I set aside my studies to focus on my work since it was my main bread and butter. I skipped school in between 2014 and 2016. Then in August 2016, I returned to the university for my thesis. Back then, most of my batchmates had either graduated or stopped studying to start a family. I struggled for my thesis proposal because, after a long time, I had to adjust again to the call of schooling. Amid the endeavor, I had successfully passed my thesis proposal. But for the second term, I had a few slowdowns. I had difficulty preparing for my experiments so I decided on not enrolling. Months after, I enrolled again for the next academic year. This time, I secured a thesis grant from the Commission on Higher Education (CHED). It was all a rough ride, from purchasing laboratory chemicals to ordering rats for my animal tests. Then by the end of the term, I passed my thesis colloquium. Passing the colloquium was a huge relief. The following term, I now enrolled for my final defense. However, at the time, I had already exceeded the 5-year residency so I was required to take a 3-unit refresher’s course. I wished everything was a piece of cake. Having a final defense and continuous revision of the manuscript, like everyone else had experienced, demanded more time and preparation.

Despite the struggles, I was able to pass the final defense on the 11th of May this year and graduated on the 2nd of June at the UST Quadricentennial Pavilion, which was just a few meters away from the Arch.

Superstition or not, I crossed the Arch while studying at UST and would graduate only six years later. The Arch of the Centuries has, indeed, witnessed my milestones in the university. It may have taken a bit longer for me to finish my graduate study but what matters is that I am now a Thomasian alumna, and I couldn’t be more proud of that.

***

Teresa May B. Bandiola is a graduate of Master of Science in Pharmacy from University of Santo Tomas-Graduate School.

--

--

Teresa Bandiola

I am a pharmacist, academic, and writer. When I'm not working, I use this platform to share my thoughts and make new friends.